Skip to content

June 8, 2013

4

Week 1-Leadership Post: Communication Reflection

by catherinejackson01

Oral Verses Written

At this moment, I am sure all that know me and read my posts, are finding this debate quite hilarious, given my tendency to talk; and some may claim that the amount of my oration tends to be synonymous with Homer’s epic tales The Odyssey and The Iliad. However, this is a debate for me. Do I wish to present my knowledge gained from my Capstone project to the educational world via a National Conference, or should I have my words written down and preserved for years to come and seek out national publication? Yes, I love to talk and share my thoughts (even when they may not be wanted), but for the past nine years or so I have been presenting knowledge about education in relation to English extension and learning development for Laying the Foundation and the National Science and Math Initiative. I thoroughly enjoy this and gain a tremendous amount of knowledge each time I present to teachers. I am comfortable with passing on lesson ideas, student success, and leaving others with the thoughts of “what if.”

However, sometimes these messages can be fleeting and they only empower those that attend the trainings or presentations. I know that not all will read educational national publications, but when I thought about the novels, short stories, poems, and articles that I have read, I realized that most were gifts from others-meaning that someone else recommended I read them. As I considered this aspect, I thought about how many others have been gifted this form of communication by the same process. When I am reading educational articles and something impacts me, I pass the article link onto others that may glean something powerful from the message as well. I don’t believe that I am as powerful as Bradbury or Hemmingway, but I do feel that the results generated from my Capstone Project can benefit an entire generation.

To critically think effectively means that the world can find solutions to problems and create ideas to expand our society. Based on this idea, I have thrown out the microphone and my love for speaking with the purpose of creating something worthy of written publication, so that perhaps someone out there will pass this gift onto someone else. The message can echo from educator to educator and hopefully the impact will generate a world of thinkers and contemplators.

cat and allums

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jun 11 2013

    Wow, way to step up to the challenge. Good luck.

    Reply
  2. Jun 13 2013

    Catherine with your gift of written expression and your reasoning, I think you have chosen the right option, if my opinion matters. Not to overstate it too much, being published is an impressive credential for a Language Arts teacher.

    Reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. WK 3: Leadership Project Hub | Phrontistery

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

P u l p e d M a c h i n a

Published Sci-fi Critical Reviews

FULL SAIL UNIVERSITY

My Action Research project on using wikis

Tech Filled Fantasy

One stop shop for all your tech-filled pleasures!

The Better Man Project â„¢

a journey into the depths

Jay Sanzin

AR website

lauriquick

God's Work of Art--in progress...Eph2:10

Amanda's Bloggy Blog

A pensieve for my thoughts and ideas...

Welcome to Samantha’s EDMT Blog!

Thanks for visiting my blog! Hope you enjoy it!

ETC blog

A true learning adventure

ksandra's thoughts

A great WordPress.com site

Super Awesome Mega Blog

Wesley Hancock's Blog

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

P u l p e d M a c h i n a

Published Sci-fi Critical Reviews

FULL SAIL UNIVERSITY

My Action Research project on using wikis

Tech Filled Fantasy

One stop shop for all your tech-filled pleasures!

The Better Man Project â„¢

a journey into the depths

Jay Sanzin

AR website

lauriquick

God's Work of Art--in progress...Eph2:10

Amanda's Bloggy Blog

A pensieve for my thoughts and ideas...

Welcome to Samantha’s EDMT Blog!

Thanks for visiting my blog! Hope you enjoy it!

ETC blog

A true learning adventure

ksandra's thoughts

A great WordPress.com site

Super Awesome Mega Blog

Wesley Hancock's Blog

