Skip to content

June 13, 2013

5

Wk-2 Reading- Self-Manipulation

by catherinejackson01

At first glance, you may have misread the title and thought to yourself, “Okay, this one I have to read-mutilation-what is this woman thinking?”   Although I do not have mutilation in the title, it still will fit perfectly into my connections and insights into this week’s reading assignment.  I don’t see mutilation within the message, but the ideas of how we move and progress and step away from challenges and stay within negative moments can definitely represent a figurative mutilation, but that isn’t the message to remember from within the first four chapters of The Art of Possibility by Zander.  The message is to manipulate your moments, your events into something that can be beneficial. 

I know, I know.  It sounds like one of those self-help books that become as addicting as cocaine, but this one is different.  I will admit that initially I was not pleased at being ‘forced’ to read The Art of Possibility by Zander and Zander in grad school, but after reading the first four chapters, I no longer see this assignment as a glass half-empty.  Instead, I get the message-life is a half-full scenario.  While reading chapter 1 about practices, I related.  I have three older brothers and two younger brothers.  Most of my brothers tended to practice belief that mirror the shoe salesman that claimed that there was no need to invest in Africa because no one wore shoes.  They saw our lives as a hindrance-as unfair.  They practiced the pity me story line; consequently, they didn’t graduate high school.  They wrote their story line, and within their minds, they invented what their lives would become-a continuation of our family’s history.  Initially, I practiced the same ideals, until someone showed me life and choices were up to meThe moments and events of my life are what I invent, what I choose.  My life and the lives of students that I encounter on a daily basis is one concept that (although hindered by the modes of measurement) is essentially a “universe of possibilities (Zander).”

I wonder if my brothers and family would have struggled as much as they have if someone had just given them the ‘A,’ and chipped away at the measurements that encompassed them (us).  If one person had provided them with this new invention by shifting their perceptions, I believe that drugs, alcohol, and failure would have not been so prevalent.  I was provided this shift in thinking because Theresa Smith gave me an A-for me; she gifted me the art of awareness and adventure.  By inspiring me to see this new world and show me that I can invent my own future, she taught me the value of contribution.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jun 13 2013

    Catherine, I really connected with your review of this week’s reading, particularly how you related the “practices” section to your brothers and your own educational experiences. I mentioned in my week 2 post that I have worked with colleagues who have chosen (yes, chosen) to make excuses for their plight, blaming administrators, parents, and other colleagues for their lack of success in the classroom. By “lack of success” I mean behavioral problems from their students, perceived lack of administrative support, and a stagnating career. Their self-fulfilling prophecies have stunted their ability to effectively evaluate their circumstances and realistically assess their situations. In other words, they’ve convinced themselves that the whole world is against them. Sadly, this attitude is like a bad odor that students and others can smell. It’s a real turn-off.

    I’ve also tried to make the most of my situation, inventing opportunities and possibilities for my students and myself. So far so good! I wish you continued success at dodging the modes of measurement and stepping further into the universe of possibilities!

    Reply
  2. Jun 15 2013

    Catherine,
    I have also enjoyed this book, the Art of Possibility by Zander and Zander. It has been insightful to read this book and think about how my life could have been. My mother has always stressed the value of education. She has a 9th grade education because she grew up in Japan. In order for her to go to high school her family would have had to pay for it and they did not have the money to do that. When I got divorced, she is the one who helped me realize I needed a college education. She has always shown my sister and I the value of hard work. She is one of the strongest people I know. I have been divorced for a really long time, and my ex husband was physically and verbally abusive to me. As I read this book, I felt like I could relate to many of the things in this book. It was hard to imagine a different kind of life when I was married but I am so glad I had the support to do that.

    Reply
    • Jun 16 2013

      Wow, Linda. I totally understand. I am so glad that you had your mom there. When you read this book and then about what if…it can be an eye opener for now a and a realization back into the past. Interesting how those pivotal moments are defined by someone else opening our eyes.

      Reply
  3. edm613
    Jun 25 2013

    Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts on the reading and about your journey. I think a snarky subtitle for the book could be, “Yes, You Do Have a Choice.” How does one dream if one lives in a world where there are no choices? Children don’t know and just assume, but then family or teachers beat it out of them… so sad. I’m so glad that someone reached out to you and let you see a world beyond the assumed reality.

    Reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Wk 2 Peer Comment: Catherine Jackson | EDM Greene

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

P u l p e d M a c h i n a

Published Sci-fi Critical Reviews

FULL SAIL UNIVERSITY

My Action Research project on using wikis

Tech Filled Fantasy

One stop shop for all your tech-filled pleasures!

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Jay Sanzin

AR website

lauriquick

God's Work of Art--in progress...Eph2:10

Amanda's Bloggy Blog

A pensieve for my thoughts and ideas...

Welcome to Samantha’s EDMT Blog!

Thanks for visiting my blog! Hope you enjoy it!

ETC blog

A true learning adventure

ksandra's thoughts

A great WordPress.com site

Super Awesome Mega Blog

Wesley Hancock's Blog

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

P u l p e d M a c h i n a

Published Sci-fi Critical Reviews

FULL SAIL UNIVERSITY

My Action Research project on using wikis

Tech Filled Fantasy

One stop shop for all your tech-filled pleasures!

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Jay Sanzin

AR website

lauriquick

God's Work of Art--in progress...Eph2:10

Amanda's Bloggy Blog

A pensieve for my thoughts and ideas...

Welcome to Samantha’s EDMT Blog!

Thanks for visiting my blog! Hope you enjoy it!

ETC blog

A true learning adventure

ksandra's thoughts

A great WordPress.com site

Super Awesome Mega Blog

Wesley Hancock's Blog

