Skip to content

June 15, 2013

1

Week 3: Peer Commentary-Anna Rose’s Mac Blog

by catherinejackson01

Anna’s Post:

This is not a new concept to me. I can not remember a time in our home when it was not full of laughter. In the worst times, the laughter was loudest. (You should hear us at funerals.) I think back on some of the hardest times in my life and my dad was always there with a joke or some way to make everyone smile. However, that is my personal life, not my professional life, so I have been more serious at work. I had a few students that said to me this year, “Miss Rose, we have seen you smile, but never heard you laugh.” I couldn’t believe that what they were saying was true, until I thought about it. I have been taking myself way too seriously recently. Everything has been about deadlines and accomplishing the tasks that I have set for myself. I have been living in the spiral and had forgotten about the vision.

As I have become more serious in my work life, I have started laughing less in my personal life as well. I have also started taking the actions of other so much more personally than those actions are intended. I believe that is because I have nudged Rule #6 out of my life. It is time to go back to my roots, stop taking myself so seriously and laugh a little more. Who wants to be around a “Debbie Downer” all of the time? I know I don’t, but I can’t move out of my own mind, so it’s time to change my mindset. Maybe I should make a poster that says “Rule #6″ and put it on my wall, because everyone needs a reminder once in a while.

Commentary:

catherinejackson01

JUNE 15, 2013 AT 9:55 PM

While reading your post, I really connected with what you stated about deadlines and projects and details that I too get bogged down in. I laugh a lot in class, but while I was reading your post, I realized that while I am comfortable with laughing in the room with students, I do not laugh with adults on campus. I really, really have been thinking about this ever since reading your post. I really don’t actively laugh in meetings or with faculty. I am goal driven in those situations, and reflecting back to those moments, the others are just as dark and disconnected as I am. I also thought about how that mentality has moved into my life at home-the deadlines, the practices, the bills, and all of those things over power me, and I find that I am serious at home-more often than I care to admit. I don’t stop long enough to enjoy where I am or what I have-strange how I didn’t realize this until now-not even after reading the chapters did I create this connection. Thank you Anna-I think you have helped remove some “rose colored glasses” that I have been sporting these days.

Read more from Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

P u l p e d M a c h i n a

Published Sci-fi Critical Reviews

FULL SAIL UNIVERSITY

My Action Research project on using wikis

Tech Filled Fantasy

One stop shop for all your tech-filled pleasures!

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Jay Sanzin

AR website

lauriquick

God's Work of Art--in progress...Eph2:10

Amanda's Bloggy Blog

A pensieve for my thoughts and ideas...

Welcome to Samantha’s EDMT Blog!

Thanks for visiting my blog! Hope you enjoy it!

ETC blog

A true learning adventure

ksandra's thoughts

A great WordPress.com site

Super Awesome Mega Blog

Wesley Hancock's Blog

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

P u l p e d M a c h i n a

Published Sci-fi Critical Reviews

FULL SAIL UNIVERSITY

My Action Research project on using wikis

Tech Filled Fantasy

One stop shop for all your tech-filled pleasures!

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Jay Sanzin

AR website

lauriquick

God's Work of Art--in progress...Eph2:10

Amanda's Bloggy Blog

A pensieve for my thoughts and ideas...

Welcome to Samantha’s EDMT Blog!

Thanks for visiting my blog! Hope you enjoy it!

ETC blog

A true learning adventure

ksandra's thoughts

A great WordPress.com site

Super Awesome Mega Blog

Wesley Hancock's Blog

