Skip to content

June 16, 2013

2

Week 3: Peer Commentary Womb of the Morning-Stuart Greaves

by catherinejackson01

Original:

June 16, 2013

greavesstuart

VALUING THE OPINION OF OTHERS

I am thoroughly enjoying this book. As I am reading it is bringing to mind many things that I think are important and see them in the Christian worldview. As I continue to the read “The Art of Possibility”, what comes to mind is the recurring theme of humility, which I think is the source of true leadership and a mark of a good leader. One of the greatest challenges of a leader is the temptation to always lead with the strong foot forward.

When we lead with humility it fosters confidence and ownership. When we lead and not use those on our team as platform for us to stand on but rather to thrust them forward into their calling and purpose in live, it produces confidence because there is safety.

When the contributions of team members get considered, it produces ownership. Considering the contribution of team members reinforces and helps them with the practice highlighted in chs 1-4, ‘I am a contribution.”

I liked Zander’s statement when he said, “Gradually, when they trusted that I was genuinely interested in what they had to say, they began to support me, not by bolstering my authority, not me ego, but by giving recognition to my role as an essential conduit for full realization of the possibility of the music.”  In my estimation this statement most clearly sums up the primary purpose of leadership.

HOW MUCH GREATNESS ARE WILLING TO EXTEND?

From a Christian worldview, I find that this is fundamentally one of the greatest questions we can ask. I believe that one of the primary purposes is that we exist for the greatness of others and their discovery of it and that our greatness partly lies in helping others discover theirs. The following might be a poor example however Mr. Holland’s  Opus is somewhat of a picture of this to me. I saw him as a man who started out with his own ambitions as his primary pursuit only to discover that his purpose was to serve those around him, namely his family first and his students. This was something that was a struggle for him.

This seen in the  primary pursuit his own dream as conductor at the expense of the dreams of those around him – namely his family.

However, in the end he had a host of learners who found themselves in life and in the end they gave him what he always wanted and he got his orchestra. Paul when he spoke to the Philippians, stated 3 Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself. 4 Let each of you look out not only for his own interests, but also for the interests of others.” Phil 2:3-4

 

The subject of humility is what makes the Person of Christ so beautiful to me and His leadership so remarkable. It is one of my favorite subjects to talk about.

As an example Jesus did the work of a slave to His disciples and said the following, “14 If I then, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet. 15 For I have given you an example, that you should do as I have done to you. 16 Most assuredly, I say to you, a servant is not greater than his master; nor is he who is sent greater than he who sent him. 17 If you know these things, blessed are you if you do them.” Jn 13:14-17

DON’T TAKE YOURSELF TOO SERIOUSLY

Referring back to John 13one of things I see is that what Jesus’ serves His disciples, it was with the awareness of abundance given to Him by the Father; 3 Jesus, knowing that the Father had given all things into His hands, and that He had come from God and was going to God, 4 rose from supper and laid aside His garments, took a towel and girded Himself. Jn 13:3-4. It seems to me that there is a strong inter-connected between all of Zander’s practices so far.  There is a connection between not taken ourselves seriously and humility. In order to take ourselves too seriously there are two conflicting dynamics in place.

  1. We have to see ourselves as possessing all the necessary ingredients to accomplish the task that is at hand whether, leading, teaching, problem-solving etc.
  2. The calculating self, which according to Zanders, “ … is concerned for its survival in a world scarcity.

“When we practice rule number 6, we coax this calculating self to lighten up, and by doing so we break its hold on us. The calculating self is concerned for its survival in a world of scarcity.” The Art of Possibility by Benjamin and Rosamund Stone Zander

I believe believe that part of what help us not take ourselves so seriously is recognizing that the weight up the world is not upon our shoulders and that part of the universe of possibility includes the resources of the gifts and talents of those around us. It is this that can contribute to levity of heart producing humor and laughter.

Commentary:

Catherine Jackson-Response

June 16, 2013 at 4:16 pm |

First, I have to say that although I do not comment on your posts each week, I am a dedicated fan, and each time you post something on your blog, I read it because I learn from you. Your interpretation and connection to humility is the perfect connection. How you seamlessly blend the lessons of life with the necessity of faith is inspirational. Your words mirror the music you send me, and both provide me with peace. When I am stressed or feel like I need encouragement, I come to your page or I listen to your music. You are a constant reminder of the essence of living-not just for oneself, but for the humanity in all of us. I know I digressed, but I wanted to let you know indebted I am to your constant reminder to see the world openly and understand that life is not just about the small battles one may endure, but the result from the continual effort to be a mirror of God.

Read more from Uncategorized
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jun 16 2013

    Stuart,
    Reading your post was a beautiful and gentle reminder that we need each other and that serving others makes the one doing the service stronger. Thank you.

    Reply
  2. Jun 17 2013

    Stuart, what you have written was sort of like going to church t hear the good word. Some preachers in my area scream and shout and present nothing but as i read you presented a ton. Humility is a beautiful gift to have. My recent boss is like this in many ways. I have always pretty much upbeat and bouncing around and when I get upset it comes from the heart because it could be some small detail that would just tick me off. He is able to show me that detail and present it with a bigger picture. He slowly but surely helps me calm down and see what I wasn’t seeing before. I think that he can only do this because he possesses this gift of humility, he is never above the given situation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

P u l p e d M a c h i n a

Published Sci-fi Critical Reviews

FULL SAIL UNIVERSITY

My Action Research project on using wikis

Tech Filled Fantasy

One stop shop for all your tech-filled pleasures!

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Jay Sanzin

AR website

lauriquick

God's Work of Art--in progress...Eph2:10

Amanda's Bloggy Blog

A pensieve for my thoughts and ideas...

Welcome to Samantha’s EDMT Blog!

Thanks for visiting my blog! Hope you enjoy it!

ETC blog

A true learning adventure

ksandra's thoughts

A great WordPress.com site

Super Awesome Mega Blog

Wesley Hancock's Blog

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

P u l p e d M a c h i n a

Published Sci-fi Critical Reviews

FULL SAIL UNIVERSITY

My Action Research project on using wikis

Tech Filled Fantasy

One stop shop for all your tech-filled pleasures!

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Jay Sanzin

AR website

lauriquick

God's Work of Art--in progress...Eph2:10

Amanda's Bloggy Blog

A pensieve for my thoughts and ideas...

Welcome to Samantha’s EDMT Blog!

Thanks for visiting my blog! Hope you enjoy it!

ETC blog

A true learning adventure

ksandra's thoughts

A great WordPress.com site

Super Awesome Mega Blog

Wesley Hancock's Blog

